Sunday, July 27, 2008

Music to get your week started

Time feels like it has been flying by this month. As we enter the last few days in July, I want to thank all the readers that come by on a regular basis and/or subscribe in a reader. That is the best way to stay current on all the music we post up as well as events we think you should check out, new music artists you may not have heard of, album reviews, label profiles and more!

First some more good news!!! After a slight delay and a change in schedule, the Dancefloor Mayhem internet show launches today on Techno.FM!

The show will air every Sunday night 6pm - 8pm PST / 9pm - 11pm EST. Tune in for music we have featured on the site, guest DJ mixes and other fresh music. The format is fairly open, we will usually start out with some downtempo stuff, then move on into electro, electro house, house, tech house, techno and other genres. This week our featured guest mix is from Alex Tomb of Elektrotribe Records.

You can also download and/or stream his mix below:

Alex Tomb - Summer Mix 2008

Here is how Alex Tomb describes his thought process both in the studio and recording DJ sets:

“I love techno music so that’s what I’m creating. My passion is mainly bass lines, surrounded by dark minimal melodies and percussion, trying to reach as dark as possible. Breakdowns are my obsession. When spooky atmospheres and mysterious melodies begin to sink through to your subconscious, hypnotizing, for as long as you can take it.
As a Dj I like to lead listeners through a trip, layering bass line over bass line into an abyss of obscurity. The style of music I'm playing and producing can be described as mainly techno with a minimal approach on elements. It is heavily dark and hypnotic without knowing what to expect.“

Next up we have a remix from Touch of a track by Hornbeam titled 'Dance or Drive'.

Hornbeam - Dance or Drive (Touch remix)

Next up, we have a couple of electro tracks from Crash Overdrive - a producer from L.A.

Crash Overdrive - Crash and Burn

Crash Overdrive - Cyberdelia

We'll wrap up the post with an electro DJ mix from DJ B-Ju from Germany:

DJ B-Ju - Played Out!


1. Siriusmo - Intro
2. Justice - D.A.N.C.E. (Mstrkrft Remix)
3. Klaxons - As Above, So Below (Justice Remix)
4. Feist - My Moon, My Man (Boys Noize Remix)
5. Digitalism - Magnets (La Mode's Space Pirate Remix)
6. Groove Armada - The Girls Say (Atomic Hooligan Remix)
7. Digitalism - Idealistic (A-Trak Remix)
8. The Whip - Divebomb (Crystal Castles Remix)
9. Count & Sinden - Beeper (A-Trak Remix)
10. A-Trak - Say Whoa
11. Kanye West - Stronger (A-Trak Remix)
12. GRUM - Go Back (Le Castle Vania Remix)
13. Fannypack - Cameltoe
14. Digitalism - Anything New
15. Yelle - À Cause Des Garçons (Tepr Remix)
16. Patrick Fiske - Receiver (Patrick L Mix)
17. SebastiAn - Momy
18. Boys Noize - Lava Lava
19. Scenario Rock - Both Gotta Move On (SebastiAn Remix)

And...a bonus track if you made it this far..please enjoy DJ B-Ju's remix of 'Little Bit Of Feel Good' by Jamie Lidell:

Jamie Lidell - Little Bit Of Feel Good (DJ B-Ju remix)

Thanks for reading! Have a great week!

1 comment:

Unknown said...

You have a great music blog here! I've added you to my mp3blog list and custom search, check it out.

I've collected over 5,000 mp3blog links, accessible from the alpha menu at page top. You can open frames on these blogs to view them directly on my site, and you can also view the feeds in a frame.

You can search your blog and all the others in my custom google search:

Rickdog's MP3blog search

I add new blogs to the lists once a week, but your site is immediately added to the custom google search engine.