Wednesday, August 19, 2009

The Penelopes release new album - Priceless Concrete Echoes

The Penelope[s] are the French Indie / Electronic duo of Axel Basquait and Vincent Tremel. They are already big in France and to a lesser extent Europe. They have had a single released on DJ Hell's International Deejay Gigolo label and an album that was released on Vitalic's Citizen Records in 2006.

As a live act, they have opened for Human League and Ladytron and have played some of the biggest music festivals in Europe including Sonar, Dour and Razzmatazz.

Their new album, Priceless Concrete Echoes was produced by Black Strobe's Arnaud Rebotini and claims to be a blend of shoegaze, disco, punk and electronic.

Standout songs for me include: 'Joey Santiago' - a fun instrumental electro-disco number, 'Sabotage' - their remake of the Beastie Boys classic which they slow down and funk up, and 'Your Plan For Happiness' - the last song on the album, which is also in the electro-disco vein but slowed down with a male vocal and some laughter.

The album is now available at fine digital retailers - released August 18th by newly formed NY label - Le Plan, and is set for physical release on September 29th.


1: Stuck in LaLaLand
2: Demian
3: Licked by Love
4: Circle of Seasons
5: Saved
6: Joey Santiago
7: Sabotage
8: Long Black Fly
9: The Heat Goes On
10: Concrete
11: Your Plan For Happiness

You can stream 'Joey Santiago' and 'Sabotage' as well as stream and/or download the Black Strobe remix of 'Demian'::

The Penelope[s] - Joey Santiago

The Penelope[s] - Sabotage

The Penelope[s] - Demian (Featuring Deirdre) [Black Strobe Remix) [click to download]

The Penelope[s] MySpace

No comments: