Sunday, August 16, 2009

Wax Tailor about to drop new album - In The Mood For Life



Wax Tailor is set to release his third album In The Mood For Life on Le Plan Music. Digital Release Date is September 22, 2009. Physical Release Date is October 27,2009.

Wax Tailor is a French recording artist, who has drawn comparisons to DJ Shadow and RJD2. Please enjoy the first single and music video from the new album - 'Say Yes' featuring ASM below.

from the press release:

Wax Tailor masters the art of reinventing oneself, and although his signature sound is immediately identifiable, a style oft compared to melancholic melodies reminiscent of The Cocteau Twins blended with a delicate balance of Hip-Hop seldom seen these days, this new album establishes a true evolution both in terms of production and song writing. String instruments, which were once just extras, now assume a more prominent role ("Dry Your Eyes"," Go Without Me"), and where genres once crossed path from one track to another, they now collide within a track ("This Train", "Fireflies"). The resulting sound is denser, more organic and the song writing more finely chiseled.

With the opening notes, the mood sets the stage. Wax Tailor is now the conductor of melodies, the director of an aural movie whose urban roots meet the perfect casting. Throughout this album, he appropriates a multitude of references with a very personal touch. His music is beyond genres and defies categorization, it is a modern brand of pop music, designed with a rigor and an expertise that betrays the love this artist puts into his craft.

Wax Tailor is coming to the U.S. in October for a special 12 city tour to promote the release of the new album. Don't miss him if he is coming to your city!

US Tour Dates

Friday October 2, 2009 - New York @ Blender Theater at Gramercy
Saturday October 3, 2009 - Boston @ Great Scott
Tuesday October 6, 2009 - Philadelphia @ Johnny Brendas
Thursday October 8, 2009 - Washingston, DC @ DC9
Friday October 9, 2009 - Montreal @ Jazz All Year Round
Saturday October 10, 2009 - Toronto @ Drake
Monday October 12, 2009 - Chicago @ Schubas
Tuesday October 13, 2009 - Seattle @ Nectar
Wednesday October 14, 2009 - Portland @ Hawthorne Theater
Friday October 16, 2009 - San Francisco @ Slim’s
Saturday October 17, 2009 - Los Angeles @ Troubadour
Sunday October 18, 2009 - San Diego @ Casbah



Wax Tailor YouTube

Wax Tailor - Say Yes [click to download]








Wax Tailor official site

Wax Tailor MySpace

No comments: