Wednesday, September 16, 2009

New GusGus album 24/7 out now!

GusGus saw the light of day for the first time in 1995, during a break in the making of the shortcut "Pleasure". Initially GusGus was as a multimedia collective that combined sexually tinged dance music with visual arts and shorts made by the group's members.

A self-titled debut album appeared on their Kjól & Anderson imprint in conjunction with the screening of "Pleasure" and immediately caused a buzz on the scene in their native land. Eventually it's euphoric grooves and sensual beats reached the demanding ears of UK's 4AD Records that signed the band in 1996. Since the release of their 4AD debut and second album, "Polydistortion", the collective started touring relentlessly to a wide acclaim that has been enforced to this day.

1999 brought the highly acclaimed and anticipated "This Is Normal". By then the group had become celebrated remixers with mixes of fellow native stars Björk and Sigur Rós and also the international ones like Depeche Mode, Pizzicato 5 and Moloko up their sleeves.

Their fourth studio effort, "Attention", featured a new line-up and a new female vocalist, Urður "Earth" Hákonardóttir. Being a foursome GusGus became enormously focused on the thing that made the group known in the first place, the music.

They released their fifth album, Forever, in February 2007. Forever brought more streamlined grooves into the sound world of GusGus and anthems like "Need in Me" and "Moss". GusGus maintained a steady presence to the public and their massive following as DJs. “Forever” was released on Pineapple Records and followed by massive touring where the band performed the tour circuit including major festivals like Glastonbury, Split, Creamfields and Benecassim.

Now with their sixth album, “24/7” they join the Kompakt family.

2009 sees GusGus as a new experience in sound and vision brought forth by Daníel Ágúst, President Bongo and Veiran.

24/7 tracklisting

1. Thin Ice
2. Hateful
3. On The Job
4. Take Me Baby (feat. Jimi Tenor)
5. Bremen Cowboy
6. Add This Song

Enjoy the music video for Add This Song, a great song and a trippy video set in a hospital.

GusGus MySpace

No comments: