Monday, February 15, 2010

New compilation from John Tejada's label - Palette Recordings

from the press release::
'Nothing But Love Songs' is Palette Recordings first digital-only compilation, featuring a dozen exclusive new songs from the label's talent. While firmly rooted in techno, the cohesive compilation incorporates experimental, dub, and glitch passages as it cycles through layers of sonic abstraction. The compilation begins with a track by Palette All-Stars (comprised of John Tejada, Arian Leviste, Justin Maxwell and Josh Humphrey), and also features solo material by Tejada as well as Maxwell, Humphrey, and Dave Hughes. Collaborations abound with all the Palette artists including Tejada’s 19-year collaborator Arian Leviste.

The LA-based artists (with the exception of Maxwell who relocated a bit north in recent years) emphasize synthesis and hardware sound design, showcasing various methods throughout the compilation. Tejada and Leviste continue their “M Track” series, which focuses on live hardware modular synth workouts. Justin Maxwell once again proves he is the ultimate mad scientist following up on the sound of his last single “The Windey Man.” Josh Humphrey contributes a strange list of instruments to his work with Tejada including a Swarmatron Synthesizer, which was used exclusively in “YZZ.” And he contributes his first solo work, “P.O.L.R.,” to the compilation. Dave Hughes also contributes his polished sound to the mix.

Normally associated with his peers in techno from Detroit, Europe and elsewhere, John Tejada has embraced electronic music as a personal frontier, expanding on his resume as a techno recording artist as producer, remixer, DJ, and label owner. Known for crafting a brand of subtle, musical techno, his recorded output ranges across tempo and genre lines, from chilled out affairs with spacious arrangements to pulsating, densely layered, deeply energetic tracks that work magnificently in the hands of DJs as well as on the home stereo.

Nothing But Love Songs Tracklisting

01 : Palette All-Stars (John Tejada, Arian Leviste, Justin Maxwell and Josh Humphrey) : "Action Section"
02 : Justin Maxwell : "Pocket Dial"
03 : John Tejada & Josh Humphrey : "YZZ"
04 : John Tejada & Justin Maxwell : "Crock Divider"
05 : John Tejada & Arian Leviste : "M Track 7"
06 : John Tejada : "On The Double"
07 : Dave Hughes : "Listen To This Sound"
08 : John Tejada & Josh Humphrey : "Tern Style"
09 : John Tejada : "Vanguard"
10 : John Tejada & Arian Leviste : "M Track 6"
11 : Dave Hughes : "Paranoid"
12 : Josh Humphrey : "P.O.L.R."

Enjoy full-length 128kbps versions of two songs from the compilation, "Action Section" and "Paranoid":

Palette All Stars - Action Section [click to download]

Dave Hughes - Paranoid [click to download]

Click Here to purchase the album from Beatport.

Palette Recordings website

No comments: