Thursday, May 24, 2012

Forever Underground - 15 years of NRK

from the press release:

As NRK head honcho Nick Harris moves ahead with a raft of new projects the time has come for the seminal label to close its doors and as a parting gift it leaves us ‘Forever Underground’ reminding us why Bristol’s house music heroes will always hold a place in dance music’s history…

Not many record labels can lay claim to a 15 year stretch, but NRK Music has been a consistent and trusted source of the finest deep house and tech house music for the last decade and a half. Set up in 1996 in Bristol, UK, NRK Music quickly delivered a hefty slew of releases from artists like Ian Pooley, Fran├žois K, Dimitri From Paris and Nick Holder, and have never looked back since. But now with over 170 single releases and 45 albums, plus the mix compilation series Back In The Box, The Lab, nite:life and Deep Sensations, NRK is preparing to close its doors for the last time and as a parting gift is releasing the superb collection “Forever Underground”.

The digital version of the release contains 33 unmixed tracks and a DJ mix from Nick Harris. The physical release is a 3xCD set, with 2 unmixed CDs of music + the Nick Harris DJ mix on the 3rd CD.

Here is the tracklisting for the digital version of the release:

01. Sirus – An Eye For An Eye (Original Mix)
02. Nufrequency Feat. Shara Nelson – Go That Deep (Charles Webster Remix)
03. Quentin Harris – Let’s Be Young (Original Mix)
04. Nick Holder – Paradise (Salt City Mix)
05. Terra Deva – Fresh Start (Joshua’s House Mix)
06. Blackjoy – Moustache (La Stache)
07. Foremost Poets – Moonraker (Original Mix)
08. Twisted Pair – Horny Hustle
09. Trackheadz – Our Music
10. Rocket – People (Jeno’s Stormy Weather Mix)
11. Francois K – Time & Space
12. Kerri Chandler – Bar A Thym (Tom Middleton's Cosmos Mix)
13. Akabu Feat. Linda Clifford – Ride The Storm (Joey Negro Dub Storm)
14. Nick Holder – Summer Daze (Radio Edit)
15. DJ Q – Superclique
16. Ed Davenport – New Yorkshire (Club Mix)
17. Paul Woolford – 313 (Part One)
18. Hot Lizard – The Theme (Carl Craig Remix)
19. Audio Soul Project – Community (Original Mix)
20. Trackheadz – Feel (Instrumental Mix)
21. Kings Of Tomorrow – The Sway
22. Chymera – Wish (Peter Dildo Rawjuice Reshape)
23. Hipp-E – Brovas Darkness
24. Lewis Boardman – Mist (Chris Lattner Remix)
25. Jamie Anderson – Time Is Now (Radio Slave Panorama Garage Remix)
26. Q-Burns Abstract Message – Innocent (King Britt's Scuba Mix)
27. Scope – Frequencies (Steve Bug’s Flying Faders Remix)
28. Ian Pooley – Quatro
29. David Alvarado – Luna
30. Magik Johnson – Feel Alright (Solid Groove Remix)
31. Dano – Do What You Want
32. Kerri Chandler – The Promise (Bigga Vocal Mix)
33. Plastic Avengers – El Bombata (H-Foundation Mix)
34. Nick Harris – DJ Mix

This compilation brings back so many good memories for me, both on the dancefloor and in the DJ booth. I have long been a fan of NRK and a lot of the artists featured here. I wanted to give you audio clips of some of the outstanding classics that are a part of this final chapter for NRK. DJ Tronic and Dancefloor Mayhem want to wish Nick Harris all the best in all his future endeavors.

Q-Burns Abstract Message – Innocent (King Britt's Scuba Mix)

Trackheadz - Our Music

Akabu ft. Linda Clifford - Ride The Storm (Joey Negro Dub Storm)

Twisted Pair - Horny Hustle

Click Here to purchase the release from Beatport - Only $15.99 for 33 tracks + the Nick Harris DJ Mix!

Click Here to buy the release from iTunes.

Click Here to read a great interview with Nick Harris on The Burlington Project website.

Nick Harris Facebook page

Nick Harris RA page

No comments: