Saturday, November 30, 2013

New full length techno LP from Alex Dolby

Alex Dolby released his second full-length album earlier this month called 'Nefesis'. Release info, streaming preview clips and purchase and social media links below.

from the press release:

Italian producer Alex Dolby, drops his second full length L.P this November, via his newly launched Affekt Recordings imprint, the album’s built up of ten original tracks on a raw Techno tip.

Alex Dolby, better known to his friends as Alessandro Salvatori, has made quite an impact since stepping into the world of electronic music over ten years ago. Looking back over his discography, Dolby’s productions skills are evident, having released material with the likes of Bedrock, Viva, and Rawthentic Music. Last year saw Alex launch the Affekt nightclub in his hometown of Frosinone, which then led to the launch of the Affekt Recordings imprint, where this LP will be released. Since launching, the label has seen support from Jonas Kopp, Sei A, DVS1, Kirk Degiorgio, and Raresh, testament to the outstanding quality of its output.

As a whole ‘Nefesis’ embraces a hypnotic, ever-evolving Techno focus, Dolby opts for an energetic tempo throughout the L.P, and fuses cavernous atmospherics with up front drum programming and penetrating bass, to achieve a well rounded package instilled with an undeniable underground appeal. Records like ‘Eastern Market’ and ‘Interlude’ display an ethereal ruggedness to Dolby’s productions, while ‘Morphosis’ and ‘Ramshackle’ embrace a more hedonistic, insistent vibe. Further highlights come in the shape of ‘Spiral’ with its psychedelic, hypnotic vibe, and ‘Paranco’ with it’s dubbed out feel, glitchy synth lines and bubbling percussive hits.

‘Purple’ shows us another side to Dolby, with emotive string melodies, soft pads and straight 4/4 drums, dissecting some aesthetics of house music and cleverly blending them with the Techno vibe running throughout the record. ‘Acidness’ takes things in the opposite direction, opting for tension building atmospherics, earth shattering drum programming and murky vocal lines to create an eerie up-tempo number.

All in all, Dolby delivers a fantastic L.P here with ‘Nefesis’, adding yet another stellar release to the impressive early stage of the Affekt Recordings imprint. Alex Dolby’s ‘Nefesis’ LP, is out now on Affekt Recordings.

Tracklist for 'Nefesis':

01. Eastern Market
02. Paranco
03. Morphosis
04. Spiral
05. Interlude
06. Purple
07. Viral
08. Ramshackle
09. Acidness
10. Nefesis

Here are streaming preview clps from all songs on the album::

Click Here to buy the LP from Beatport

Alex Dolby Soundcloud page

Alex Dolby facebook page

Alex Dolby official site

Alex Dolby Resident Advisor page

No comments: