Thursday, February 5, 2015

Wall of Sound celebrating 21 years this year!

Coming out April 13th, to celebrate their 21st year as a label, will be a great 2-disc compilation from the Wall of Sound vaults. The label was founded in 1994 by Mark Jones. Here is what Mark had to say about getting to this point:

"I just want to give artists the platform to do what they do. That's what it's always been about for me. It's never been about sitting in a studio saying, 'Don't do it like that, do it like this’. Wall of Sound has always been about artists being themselves. It's been a very very interesting journey, 21 years....who would have thunk it?"

Here is a streaming mini-mix preview:

The tracklist for the mini-mix is:

Propellerheads - Take California
Wiseguys - Start the Commotion
Les Rythmes Digitales -(Hey You) What's That Sound?
The Bees - A Minha Menina
Royksopp - Poor Leno
Tiesto vs. Diplo feat. Busta Rhymes - C'mon (Catch 'Em By Surprise)

Here is the tracklist for the full release:

Disc 1

Propellerheads - Take California
Royksopp - Poor Leno
Les Rythmes Digitales - (Hey You) What’s That Sound?
Grace Jones - Williams’ Blood (Aeroplane Remix)
The Wiseguys - Start The Commotion
Zoot Woman – It’s Automatic
The Bees – A Minha Menina
Tiesto vs Diplo (feat. Busta Rhymes) - C’mon (Catch ‘Em By Surprise)
E – Kletik – Maracana Madness
The Human League – Night People
Reverend And The Makers – Heavyweight Champion Of The World
The Jolly Boys - Rehab
Aeroplane - We Can’t Fly
Two Culture Clash - …And Dance
Kids On Bridges - Walls
B.E.F. (feat. Boy George) - I Wanna Be Your Dog
Scala & Kolacny Brothers - Nothing Else Matters

Disc 2

Sykur - Curling
Shawn Lee - Happiness
Ceasefire - Trickshot
Mekon (feat. Roxanne Shante) - Yes Yes Y’all (Duke Dumont Remix)
Propellerheads - Dive (John Peel live session1996)
Royksopp - Remind Me (Jo Whiley live session 2002)
Dirty Beatniks - Whores, Freaks, Saints and Angels (Lamacq Live session 2000)
Grace Jones - Love You To Life (Later With Jools Holland 2008)
Wiseguys - Ooh La La (Lamacq Live session 2000)
Infadels - Can’t Get Enough (Lamacq Live session 2006)
Blak Twang - Kik Off (Jo Whiley session 2002)
Reverend and The Makers - The State Of Things (Zane Lowe live session 2007)
The Jolly Boys - Perfect Day (Later With Jools Holland
The Elektrons - Get Up (Giles Peterson live session 2007)
The Shortwave Set - Now Til 69 (Rob Da Bank live session 2008)
Akasha - Brown Sugar (Mary Anne Hobbs live session 1998)
Ugly Duckling - A Little Samba (Lamacq Live session 2001)
Shy Child - Drop The Phone (Tom Robinson live session 2007)

Wall of Sound official site

Click here to buy Wall Of Sound music from Beatport

Wall of Sound facebook page

Wall Of Sound Twitter

No comments: